Sweet Dreams

Philosophical Obstacles to a Science of Consciousness

Sweet Dreams

In the years since Daniel Dennett's influential Consciousness Explained was published in 1991, scientific research on consciousness has been a hotly contested battleground of rival theories—"so rambunctious," Dennett observes, "that several people are writing books just about the tumult." With Sweet Dreams, Dennett returns to the subject for "revision and renewal" of his theory of consciousness, taking into account major empirical advances in the field since 1991 as well as recent theoretical challenges. In Consciousness Explained, Dennett proposed to replace the ubiquitous but bankrupt Cartesian Theater model (which posits a privileged place in the brain where "it all comes together" for the magic show of consciousness) with the Multiple Drafts Model. Drawing on psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and artificial intelligence, he asserted that human consciousness is essentially the mental software that reorganizes the functional architecture of the brain. In Sweet Dreams, he recasts the Multiple Drafts Model as the "fame in the brain" model, as a background against which to examine the philosophical issues that "continue to bedevil the field." With his usual clarity and brio, Dennett enlivens his arguments with a variety of vivid examples. He isolates the "Zombic Hunch" that distorts much of the theorizing of both philosophers and scientists, and defends heterophenomenology, his "third-person" approach to the science of consciousness, against persistent misinterpretations and objections. The old challenge of Frank Jackson's thought experiment about Mary the color scientist is given a new rebuttal in the form of "RoboMary," while his discussion of a famous card trick, "The Tuned Deck," is designed to show that David Chalmers's Hard Problem is probably just a figment of theorists' misexploited imagination. In the final essay, the "intrinsic" nature of "qualia" is compared with the naively imagined "intrinsic value" of a dollar in "Consciousness—How Much is That in Real Money?"

Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams

Someone has unleashed an ancient evil bent on destroying Cassidy Christopher by eradicating the women he loves, one by one... Just one year earlier, Cassidy's daughter, Maddie, was attacked by a creature who can change shape at will; a demon who was unleashed by human hands from its chains beneath The Protector, an ancient oak tree on the Christopher property. Dubbed the "Sweet Dreams Killer," the creature lulls its female victims into a dream state before crushing their bones from the inside out. During a routine prison transfer, the creature escapes and warns Maddie through their telepathic connection that he's coming for her. In the dead of the night, Maddie calls her best friend, Robyn Warren, and their connection is abruptly severed. As Robyn hastens to be with the only family she has, little does she realize that ancient forces are at work. The man she loves has a deadly enemy who hates him enough to have unleashed a demon against him, but who? Can she and Cass fight the evil created for the sole purpose of destroying everyone he loves? Can Cass risk loving another woman he could lose? In the wake of newfound surrender to a love they can no longer fight, Robyn and Cass find they have everything they've ever wanted...except time.

Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams

It's New Year' Eve and John looks forward to all the things he will be celebrating over the next year. However, he falls asleep and wakes up only to find that it was all just a "Sweet Dream..".... This is a wonderful repetitive book about the months of the year, holidays, and seasons.

Sweet Dreams, Maisy

Sweet Dreams, Maisy

At the end of a busy day, Maisy says goodbye to her friends and takes Panda inside to get ready for bed.

Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams

Everybody sleeps, even your friends, grown-ups, and pets. And sleeping is very, very important. Sleeping is when you settle down so your body can grow big and strong. It’s how you gain back all the energy you used to learn and play today. But it’s also an important time for something else. Sleeping is a great time to snuggle into bed and enjoy your sweet dreams. It is time again to put your little ones to bed. Bedtime is all about helping create soothing images to help your children fall asleep and sleep peacefully. Sweet Dreams is a short, repetitive text with calming illustrations to help your little ones fall asleep and stay asleep with sweet dreams whispering in their heads. Sweet Dreams is a great little book to read over and over, night after night as you put your little ones to bed. Let these calming words and soothing images become part of your nightly bedtime routine.

Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams

Kathleen is a sensitive and caring woman who has spent the majority of her life in an abusive marriage. She comes to a crossroads in her middle-aged life. She has lost her dignity and her self-worth because of her husband’s frequent verbal and physical abuse throughout the years. As she resigns herself to her nightmarish reality, her subconscious, the healthy and alive part of whom she truly is, emerges. Within her dream world, she is young and beautiful. Living in this state, she experiences love in its truest form with a loving young man named Joseph. Kathleen is able to cope, to love, and to feel joy for the first time in her life. Her husband, jealous of his wife’s preoccupation and her escapes, becomes enraged. Kathleen is exposed to her husband’s most violent outbursts of their marriage, and she narrowly escapes losing her life. Will Kathleen permanently escape her abuse, and at what cost? Can she find the strength within herself to make her dream world come true or will she die trying? Gibbs deftly explores the emotional landscape of abuse, what it does to the victim and what it does to the psyche. With clarity, heart-wrenching, and beautifully written narration, Gibbs gives voice to a subject that is not discussed in polite company. Sweet Dreams, its message, and its protagonist will find a place in your heart and soul, and will stay there long after the final page is turned.

Sweet Dreams

The WJA Series Book 1 (Regular Edition) (A Mark Appleton Thriller)

Sweet Dreams

NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestseller Top #10 Amazon Bestseller #1 Bestseller in Thriller #1 Bestseller in Mystery/Thriller #1 Bestseller in Hard-Boiled Thriller #1 Barnes & Noble Bestseller "I would recommend this book to anyone who likes James Patterson or books like his. I can't wait for the next book to come out." --Sandra Labella, Amazon reviewer Fans of Lee Child, James Patterson and Dean Koontz will love this exciting mystery thriller from New York Times bestselling author Aaron Patterson as intrigue and conspiracy drips off each page. * * * Get ready for book one in the Mark Appleton Hard-Boiled Thriller series, from New York Times and USA Today Bestselling thriller writer Aaron Patterson.* * * * * * *WarningThe WJA series is a cross genre series and may bend or break many rules. If you are set in the traditional ways of storytelling this may not be the series for you. Please use caution and only read if you are of an open mind, and crave something off the map and mind-bending. * * * PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: Mark Appleton is living the American Dream. Beautiful wife, loving daughter, and a high paying job in New York City. But when his family are killed in a accident he must reinvent himself. A year later in the midst of putting his life back together, Mark finds out that his family was killed and it was...No accident. Mark will stop at nothing to hunt down the men responsible for the death of his family and what he finds will change his life forever. Kirk Weston is a Detroit detective. He hates his job, his ex-wife, and his life. He is hand selected to help the FBI on a high profile case and just when he thinks things could not get any worse... They do. * * * Book 1 in the WJA series is, SWEET DREAMS, Book 2, DREAM ON, and Book 3, IN YOUR DREAMS are also available! * * * REVIEWS: "I loved this book. It kept me turning one page after the other at a fast pace. James Patterson is one of my favorite authors. I have read many of his books. Hoping to read all of them in my lifetime." --Amazon Reviewer "Suspense, thriller with a perfect ending, leaving me wanting more. An on the edge of your seat, all night read. I most certainly will be reading "Dream On." --Sheri Wilkinson, Sandwich, IL "Great mystery suspense cannot wait to read the next one the story keeps you guessing trying to figure out what is coming next." --Amazon Reviewer * * * SWEET DREAMS is an intense hard-boiled thriller of approximately 95,000 words / 395 pages. This book also contains the following bonus material: Excerpt from DREAM ON, by Aaron Patterson. SWEET DREAMS is for readers who enjoy Alex Cross and James Patterson's Michael Bennett novels rave about Aaron Patterson's Mark Appleton. Mystery thriller & suspense thrillers, conspiracy thriller, mystery thriller & suspense crime fiction, vigilante justice, dark action-packed disturbing vengeful, international mystery & crime, christian literature & fiction, religion & spirituality fiction, christian mystery & suspense, christian fiction, christian thrillers, christian suspense, thriller series. Visit Aaron's blog at TheWorstBookEver.blogspot.com Follow Aaron on twitter at twitter.com/Mstersmith Join Aaron on facebook too!

Sweet Dreams

A Lullaby

Sweet Dreams

This book was born from a lullaby that my little girls helped write. Each night they like to be put to sleep with a wish for "sweet dreams." Over time the wishes turned to singing and slowly the verses came...until we felt like we had a proper lullaby. This book is a gift to them, so they can always remember this time in their lives. For Natalia and Melissa, I love you mais que vida! Daddy

Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams

Dalton is a straight up kid that finds doing the right thing often gets him into more trouble than he can handle. When he and his best friend Joey, blow the motor on their nitro injected Mustang, they must take a summer job or give up drag racing. It's not long after they start their new job that they find out the manager of the parts store is stealing to support his gambling habit. They find themselves on the bad side of an international car smuggling ring. Dalton and Joey team up together to build the ultimate street racer; a 1967 Shelby Mustang GT-500. Although blowing the doors off their competition seems fun at first, a few local racers take their losing a little too seriously. In the end they must do battle for what might cost them more then just their pink slip and the bragging rights to the fastest car in Marin. On a chance night Dalton meets the girl of his dreams. Amelia is a smart society bombshell to die for. Too bad she's already taken. As it turns out, Amelia's boyfriend Dolf and his gang of rogue jocks might be the deadliest of all Daltons' problems. Sweet Dreams entertains through intense action, heartfelt romance and twisting plots. Underneath the surface however, lies a tapestry woven of the lives, feelings, and emotions that help to weave the characters personalities and pull you into their minds. You won't be able to put this book down, and you will never guess the climactic ending.

Sweet Dreams

Erotic Plots

Sweet Dreams

A previously unpublished work by the author. 'It was like discovering a previously unknown recording by the Beatles. On a 2007 visit to the author's widow, Sybil, she handed me a manuscript. The author's last book had been placed in a publishing queue by his retiring editor. After Bob's death Sybil was told that the publisher had discontinued psychoanalytic books. It languished on a home shelf in Los Angeles for sixteen years. I was holding the final work by psychoanalysis's most eloquent writer on sex.' - From the Foreword by Dr Richard Green